Travelling to South Africa from a yellow fever risk country, you will require a valid yellow fever certificate for all travellers from over one year of age. At the port of entry into South Africa, vaccination certificates are routinely checked for travellers arriving from high risk yellow fever transmission countries. Even if you have only been on the airport of a country with a high risk of yellow fever transmission for over 12 hours will also have to produce a proof of vaccination certificate when entering South Africa, and if you cannot produce a valid certificate at the point of entry, entry will be refused and you will be placed under quarantine surveillance until certificate becomes valid, or you can be quarantined for a period not exceeding six days.

If you are medically not allowed to get a yellow fever vaccination you must have an exemption certificate, and will be allowed entry into South Africa, but will be placed under quarantine and/or will be required to report any fever or other symptoms to the health authorities.

Make sure to get your yellow fever vaccination at least 10 days prior to your departure in order to allow the production of protective antibodies after the vaccination. You must also make sure that you receive a valid yellow fever vaccination certificate that is valid for 10 years. The yellow fever vaccine is contraindicated in pregnant women, infants younger than 9 months, individuals with egg allergies and certain immunosuppressed individuals. Just take note that if you are not able to have the yellow fever vaccination, you still require a health certificate indicating the reason why you cannot be vaccinated.

Travelling to and from the following countries requires a vaccination certificate before entering South Africa: Angola, Argentina, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Guinea-Bissau, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, French Guyana, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guyana, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Suriname, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, and Venezuela.



Leave a Reply