South Africa is situated on the southern tip of Africa and has a landmass of 1 233 404 km², edges by nearly 3000km of coastline which compromises of the Indian Ocean and the Atlantic Ocean. It is bordered by Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Mozambique in the north, and wraps itself around two independent countries, Lesotho and Swaziland.

South Africa has three capitals, Cape Town, Pretoria and Bloemfontein and an extremely diverse population of more than 49 million people. South Africa is a multi-lingual country with 11 official languages.

South Africa has a very well developed financial sector and an active stock exchange and has achieved steady economic growth in the gross domestic product (GDP) since the late 90’s.

Tourism is one of the fastest growing sectors in South Africa, with a well-established tourism industry like adventure, sport, nature and wildlife travel.

South Africa’s currency is the rand, and offers visitors from abroad a great value for their money. The rand comes in a range of coins (R1 = 100 cents) and note denominations of R10, R50, R100 and R200.

South Africa have 9 provinces, namely: Gauteng, Eastern Cape, Free State, Western Cape, Northern Cape, Limpopo, KwaZulu-Natal, North West and Mpumalanga.

South Africa is known for its long sunny days, with most of the provinces have a summer rainfall, except for the Western Cape with a winter rainfall. Summer is from November to February, autumn is from March to April, winter from May to August and spring from September to October.

A large number of cellphone providers provide coverage nationally and internet and Wi-Fi are easily accessible especially in most urban areas.

Since Professor Christiaan Barnard performed the first successful heart transplant in 1967, South Africa became well-known for its medial skills. Especially in the urban centers, South Africa have many world-class private hospitals and medical centers around the country.



Leave a Reply